Tchasing Tchaikovsky

September 17, 2016  •  8:00 pm

@ Thomas Wolfe Auditorium

Daniel Meyer, conductor
Jennifer Koh, violin

Tchaikovsky     Suite from Sleeping Beauty
Tchaikovsky     Francesca da Rimini
Tchaikovsky     Violin Concerto in D

Ear JoyMy Lifetime Pursuit of the Russian Master

Our season opens with a celebration of Tchaikovsky, a composer I have admired my entire life. Tchaikovsky brought his passion to every piece of music he wrote, and we will sample his genius in one glorious evening. You cannot help but be swept away by the romance of the timeless tale of Sleeping Beauty. Francesca da Rimini is a powerful tone poem from Dante’s Inferno. We end the evening with a favorite violin concerto, performed by one of America’s finest young soloists.
Daniel Meyer, Music Director

jennifer koh

Jennifer Koh, violin

Named 2016 Musician of the Year by Musical America, Ms. Koh has already taken bows with the Chicago Symphony, New York Philharmonic, and Munich Philharmonic. Tonight she returns to Asheville to perform the Violin Concerto in D.

interactive program notes Interactive Program Notes