2/9/2012 Review by John Bridges



Daniel Meyer, conductor

Daniil Trifonov, piano

Vivian Smith, narrator

Saturday, February 09, 2013

Thomas Wolfe Auditorium

Asheville, North Carolina

– Review –

A standing ovation with repeated shouts of “Bravo” exploded from the sell-out audience in Thomas Wolfe Auditorium last Saturday evening as soon as 21-year-old Daniil Trifonov struck the final chords of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s “Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23”. He was called for many bows and he obliged with encores of one of over three dozen “Fairy Tales” by Nikolai Medtner and of Schumann-Liszt’s “Widmung”. Trifonov’s playing was marked not only by accomplished virtuosity but with sensitive musicianship which enabled him to produce a host of imaginative colors.

The concert opened with a moving performance of Samuel Barber’s “Adagio for Strings”, a now-familiar work which is often associated with films and on stage when particularly serious music is required.

Next, César Franck’s symphonic poem for orchestra “Psyché” got a sensitive performance by the Symphony aided by local actress Vivian Smith who provided narration between the movements. Maestro Meyer was most successful in creating an atmosphere of eroticism that helped the music come alive.

Throughout the entire program, Conductor Meyer brought poetic and colorful playing from the Symphony.

by John Bridges