3/16/2013 Review by John Bridges



Daniel Meyer, conductor

Tim Fain, violin

Saturday, March 16, 2013

Thomas Wolfe Auditorium

Asheville, North Carolina

– Review –

“Splendid!” — was my opening comment on the drive home from the recent concert by the Asheville Symphony.

Conductor Daniel Meyer devised a novel program for the evening which he introduced with George Frederic Handel’s familiar “Water Music, Suite No. 2 in D Major”.  Specifically, he brought out a rippling style of playing which he enhanced with an unexpected undulating undercurrent provided by a Moog synthesizer.

This was followed by “Violin Concerto No. 2, The American Four Seasons” by contemporary American composer Philip Glass. Guest soloist Tim Fain together with the orchestra played with extreme simplicity and refined repetition which provided “maximum effect by minimal means.”

Following intermission, “Three Latin-American Sketches” by Aaron Copeland added to the evening’s mixture of styles in a delightful manner.

Johann Sebastian Bach’s “Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F Major, BWV 1047” was the final work of the evening. Maestro Meyer’s direction brought out a varietal display of orchestral color and imaginative instrumental playing. The range and passage work for the solo trumpet made for an exceptional conclusion to the concerto and, indeed, to the entire concert.

by John Bridges