MENUCLOSE

MASTERWORKS 2

Legacy

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 26, 2024
2:00 P.M. AND 8:00 P.M.
FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH OF ASHEVILLE

Darko Butorac, conductor

Terrence Wilson, piano

Iconic, legendary, epic — the Emperor stands alone as an unrivaled titan among concertos. With his fifth and final piano concerto, Beethoven goes beyond the traditions of his early inspirations and ultimately crafts an innovative and epic masterpiece that surpasses his predecessors’ wildest dreams. Sharing the program with Beethoven is one such early inspiration: C.P.E. Bach. Son of J.S. Bach and a master in his own right, C.P.E. Bach left a huge impact on future generations, including Beethoven. Rounding out the program is Brahms, the man perhaps most preoccupied with Beethoven’s legacy. As Beethoven’s de facto successor, Brahms revered, grappled with, and eventually transcended his idol’s legacy through his magnificent symphonies.

C.P.E. Bach: Symphony in D Major

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5, “Emperor”

Brahms: Symphony No. 3

 

Single Tickets on sale August 13, 2024. Subscribe today for early access! 

EVENT SPONSORS

CONCERT SPONSOR

David and Pamela Lane

GUEST ARTIST SPONSOR

Dr. Bolling Farmer

Terrence Wilson, Piano
Click here to read Terrence's bio.
Terrence Wilson, Piano
Click here to read Terrence's bio.

Acclaimed by the Baltimore Sun as “one of the biggest pianistic talents to have emerged in this country in the last 25 years” pianist Terrence Wilson has appeared as soloist with the symphony orchestras of Atlanta, Baltimore, Cincinnati, Dallas, Detroit, Houston, Washington, DC (National Symphony), San Francisco, St. Louis, and with the orchestras of Cleveland, Minnesota, and Philadelphia and the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. Conductors with whom he has worked include Christoph Eschenbach, Alan Gilbert, Neeme Järvi, Jesús López-Cobos, Lawrence Renes, Robert Spano, Yuri Temirkanov, Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, Gunther Herbig and Michael Morgan.

Learn More

SEE MORE

Upcoming Events

Wednesday, Jun. 12, 2024 / June 2024
ASYO European Tour - Summer 2024
Saturday, Sep. 7, 2024 / 7:00 p.m.
Symphony in the Park
Tuesday, Sep. 17, 2024 / 7:00 P.M.
Violin Recital With Alexi Kenney
Saturday, Sep. 21, 2024 / 2:00 p.m. & 8:00 p.m.
Masterworks 1: Echoes
Tuesday, Oct. 1, 2024 / 7:00 p.m.
ALT ASO: Broadway @ Highland Brewing
Saturday, Oct. 26, 2024 / 2:00 p.m. & 8:00 p.m.
Masterworks 2: Legacy
Friday, Nov. 22, 2024 / Multiple Dates & Times
Masterworks 3: Messiah
Thursday, Dec. 5, 2024 / 8:00 p.m.
Cirque De La Symphonie
Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2024 / 8:00 p.m.
New Year's Eve: Music of ABBA
Tuesday, Jan. 14, 2025 / 7:00 p.m.
ALT ASO: Classic Rock @ The Orange Peel
Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2025 / 7:00 P.M.
Piano Recital With Martina Filjak
Saturday, Feb. 15, 2025 / 2:00 P.M. & 8:00 P.M.
Masterworks 4: Ciao Italia
Saturday, Mar. 15, 2025 / 2:00 P.M. & 8:00 P.M.
Masterworks 5: Carmen
Tuesday, Mar. 25, 2025 / 7:00 p.m.
ALT ASO: R&B @ White Horse Black Mountain
Saturday, Apr. 12, 2025 / 2:00 P.M. & 8:00 P.M.
Masterworks 6: Fate
Thursday, May. 1, 2025 / 7:00 P.M.
TF3's Jukebox with Time for Three
Saturday, May. 3, 2025 / 2:00 P.M. & 8:00 P.M.
Masterworks 7: Tall Tales
Thursday, May. 8, 2025 / 7:00 p.m.
ALT ASO: Cabaret @ The Orange Peel
Saturday, May. 10, 2025 / 7:00 p.m.
An Evening With Chris Thile
SEE ALL EVENTS